30 Day Cold Shower Challenge

Hello Dreamers!

It has been a while! I have been so busy lately with school that I literally had no time to write. I missed writing and sharing my thoughts with everyone so I am BACK! I hope everyone has been blessed everyday and has had positive vibes this summer. It is almost fall, and school already started so I wish everyone a great school year. So I am going to kick this post off with something that I wanted to do for myself, and then share my experience with you all. For the next 30 days I would like to challenge myself in something that many people are sort of afraid to do, so stay tuned.

Image result for cold shower

WE all love our hot and steamy showers, but a few times in the year we should change it up a bit and experience a cold shower. It’s 2017 so I am sure most people already know the benefits of a cold shower, but some people aren’t aware because they don’t see themselves ever taking a cold shower. I love my hot showers its relaxing and the perfect way to end your day. Also when mixed with bath bombs and bubble baths it is the best experience. So it is safe to say that a hot shower is preferred, but what about cold showers?

Can a cold shower really be beneficial to the body?

Can it truly be relaxing?

Does it really work?

What are the benefits of a cold shower?

I will be answering all the questions that most people have when it comes to taking a cold shower in this post day by day. I want to share with you my experience with this challenge, and answer the questions you might have about what it’s like. I will give you a rundown of a day by day experience and explain how I feel each day. I hope that after this challenge and the experience I share, motivates people to do it too. 

Image result for day 1

September 12, 2017

My Day 1 experience was not as bad as I thought because I exercised beforehand and was in dire need of cool air so I decided to take a cold shower, and then from there I decided to do it for the next 30 days. At first jumping into a cold shower was nerve-racking because I knew it was cold, my brain was like “Oh hell no lady”. I embraced it and just jumped right in to it. For the first like 5 minutes I was regretting it but then my body started getting used to the temperature.

It’s like jumping into a pool, at first its freezing and you’re like “WHY!” and then after a while it starts to feel warm to you. I live in Florida, so a cold shower in the hot weather everyday is very much needed. After 10 minutes of the shower I got used to it and started feeling like I can do this. When I got out I was ready to write a blog about it and my mind didn’t really want to go to sleep. I did make the mistake of taking a cold shower late at night because I exercised late. It took me about 2 hours after my shower to fully go to sleep, compared to when I take a hot shower before bed and I knock right out. I personally think it was just the excitement. The cold shower gave me energy, and caused me to stay up the first night. So after that I decided the next day to take a cold shower when I wake up.

Related image

September 13, 2017

The next day, I woke up to take another cold shower to test the theory I had the night before. I jumped right into it, and at first I was craving a hot shower when I realized it wasn’t going to be a fun time right after waking up. The second day I was like “OH NO!” I wanted to jump out of the shower because even though I prepared myself I still did not feel prepared for the temperature. I still went through with it and pulled through, I also wet my hair but I didn’t wash it because my hair was still clean from two days ago. You should never wash your hair more than once or twice a week.

After my cold shower the second day I actually did feel refreshed. I wanted to clean, play video games, and do my homework all at once. I felt brand new, and not so tired and groggy. So my theory of taking a cold shower in the mornings prior to a night shower actually worked in my opinion. I didn’t stop there though, I took two cold showers and I didn’t feel as awake as I did the night before, but I didn’t fall asleep as fast as I would with a hot shower. I figured I would give it a try though and see if I can take more than one shower.

I challenge myself for the third day of this 30-day challenge. I will be hitting the gym and taking two showers again, one in the morning and one in the afternoon coming home from the gym. I will explain how that went for the third day of the month.

Image result for day 3

September 14, 2017

I took a cold shower early morning and then headed to the gym to get the body sweating to take a cold shower when I get home. I came home from the gym and hopped straight into the shower because I dislike feeling uncomfortable after the gym, and everyone should get out of their gym clothes as fast as they can.

The shower felt really good I actually felt like I was cooling down even though cold water doesn’t really make your body cool down, but all I know is it felt good. I felt refreshed and ready to enjoy the rest of my day. Taking a cold shower after the gym was a good decision because I knew I had school the next day, and I knew I would be in so much pain. So I gave myself a liquid version of an ice bath.

 

For the rest of the days I wanted to just give a brief explanation of how that went down because I didn’t want to make this post extra long since it is a 30-day challenge. This will just be shortened and summed up so that way we can get to why I took the challenge and the benefit of the challenge. 

DAY 4-30

For the remaining time I had with this challenge, I had a love and hate relationship with it after the first 10-days of it. To be honest I couldn’t wait until it was over after Day-10. However, even though I wanted it to end I still went through with it, and I had different experiences on different days. Some days I was like “Yes, I’m awake and refreshed!” and then other days I was like “O.M.G! When will this be over I miss hot showers!” So my feelings about the challenge varied because even though I felt refreshed, it’s still a shocker to take cold showers every morning. The days I felt refreshed were amazing because I had energy and was actually feeling happy. The days I felt like I couldn’t do it anymore I still felt refreshed because I pushed myself to still take cold showers and my mood was still good.

I would go to school and tell people that I was taking a cold shower for 30-days, and they looked at me like if I was crazy, but I told them there are some benefits to it and I’m writing a blog about it to let others know the benefits. 

After the challenge, I was happy I was able to take hot showers again. The day after the last day of the challenge I took a hot shower and it felt okay, I wasn’t as awake but I felt good because I was able to finally take a hot shower. The next few days I got back to taking hot showers and I have to say I miss taking cold showers, at least in the mornings.

In my Opinion:

Hot showers, I’ve noticed are good for when you’re about to go to sleep or take a nice nap. Cold showers are good for when you want to wake up, obviously because its cold, and it gives you a little adrenaline. Hot showers do not make me feel refreshed but I do feel relaxed. I would have to say after this challenge I want to balance hot showers and cold showers because both methods have different, yet the same end results. I think if there is a balance with the two, it will be beneficial by improving the mood in the mornings and feeling calm at night before bed. Now everybody has different experiences and reactions to taking the challenge so I can only speak for myself from my experiences.

 

Image result for benefits

Cold Shower Benefits:

  • Builds Will Power.
  • Stress becomes reduced.
  • Increases Alertness, and causes you to feel more awake.
  • Improves condition of the Skin and Hair.
  • Brown fat is increased.
  • Improves Weight Loss.
  • For Men: Increases Testosterone. 
  • For Women: Fertility Boost.
  • Circulation of blood is improved.
  • Improves health and immunity.
  • Muscle recovery time speeds up.
  • Relieves depression.
  • You will feel more energized.
  • Teaches Self Control.
  • Reduces hair loss.
  • Tightens the skin.

Hot Shower Benefits:

  • Relieves tension on the muscles.
  • Eases anxiety.
  • Acts as a decongestant for the body when suffering from a cold.
  • Improves Circulation.
  • Cleanses the skin by opening up the pores and making it easier to clean.
  • Relieves a stiff neck as well as the shoulders. 
  • Relieves coughs.
  • Decreases stress and insomnia.
  • Relieves headaches.
  • Reduces Puffiness.
  • Reduces Fatigue. 

Image result for cold shower

I want to take the time to thank every one of you that has viewed and supported my blog it feels so good to challenge myself for 30-days and give you all my experience of it. I really hope some of you take my experience and challenge yourselves. See if it works for you and let me know if it has worked for you or hasn’t. Enjoy 30-days of increasing your will power and ability for self control. This challenge was not easy for me to do because cold showers are not a regular thing to do, but personally I think balancing hot and cold is the way to go. I loved taking cold showers and some days I wanted to give up, but I assure you it is worth giving it a try. 

Thank you my Dreamers,

I hope you enjoyed this post.

Until next time.

Thanks for reading and keeping up with Luna.

 

“Breathe in the energy you exhale to the world.
Walk on clouds as if you’re forever dreaming.”

Leave a comment